Law Databases
U.S. National
Bloomberg Law - From the well-known provider of business and financial news data and includes in-depth legal analysis, filings, judicial opinions, real-time and archival news, and company and biographical information in a single, integrated database. Bloomberg Law includes customized Practice Centers for the following areas of law: Antitrust, Banking & Finance, Bankruptcy, Benefits & Executive Compensation, Corporate, E-Discovery, Health, International Trade, Labor & Employment, Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility, Patents & Trade Secrets, Privacy & Data Security, Securities, Tax, Tech & Telecom, and Trademarks & Copyrights. [Access to Bloomberg Law requires an individual login, Law School students may request an account online at the Bloomberg Law website.] [Users can also use the Bloomberg terminal in the Reading Room.]
Casetext - legal research and writing platform that lets researchers search millions of cases, statutes, and regulations annotated with analysis contributed by the members of the legal community. Includes federal cases (Supreme Court, appellate, and district court) since 1925, as well as appellate cases for all 50 states, updated daily to include recently issued opinions, as well as federal and state statutes and regulations. Also includes CARA, a tool that analyzes legal documents such as briefs and algorithmically queries the law to find relevant cases not already cited in the document. Law School students can sign up for free Casetext account at: http://info.casetext.com/lawschool/.
Fastcase - includes federal and state cases (including tax, claims, and bankruptcy courts), statutes, and regulations.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law - covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents.
Law.com - features news on Class Actions, Product Liability, Corporate and Securities, Appellate Practice, Intellectual Property, and Labor & Employment law, plus all the news from the American Lawyer, the National Law Journal, the New York Law Journal, the Recorder, and other legal newspapers and magazines from American Lawyer Media. For American Lawyer Media (ALM) survey and ranking reports, such as the AmLaw 100, see ALM Intelligence Legal Compass.
Law360 - publishes breaking news and analysis with a focus on major litigation across more than 35 practice areas. Users can set up email alerts by clicking in the upper right hand corner where it says, "University of Chicago Law S..."
LexisNexis Digital Library (LexisNexis and Matthew Bender ebooks)
Lexis+ for Law Students
The Making of Modern Law: Landmark Records and Briefs of the U.S. Courts of Appeals, 1950-1980 (selected U.S. Court of Appeal cases)
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 (Gale/Cengage Learning)
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1926 (Gale/Cengage Learning)
The Making of Modern Law: Supreme Court Briefs & Records, 1832-1978 (Gale/Cengage Learning)
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 (Gale/Cengage Learning)
Nexis UNI (LexisNexis for all U of C students and faculty)
PACER - Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information from Federal Appellate, District and Bankruptcy courts, and from the U.S. Party/Case Index. For Law School users, PACER is searchable via Bloomberg Law. If you have other questions about searching PACER, please contact a reference librarian.
Practical Law Company - transactional law resource that provides model documents (with legal drafting and negotiating tips), step-by-step checklists, timelines, handy overviews of transactional practice areas, and legal updates on the latest market developments. PLC focuses on corporate, securities, and finance law. Available via Westlaw.
Practising Law Institute (PLI) Plus - collection of e-books and other publications on a variety of legal topics written by general practitioners.
ProQuest Legislative Insight - a Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. Each legislative history includes the full text of the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, public comments, reports, and prints. Also included are presidential signing statements, Congressional Research Service reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law. Legislative Insight includes only documents related to the passage of a law, so hearings, reports, bills, etc., that are not part of a legislative history are not included in this database. For those other materials please use ProQuest Congressional.
ProQuest Regulatory Insight - creates regulatory histories for individual federal statutes and Executive Orders by compiling pertinent Federal Register articles into a research-friendly workspace similar to the workspace provided in Legislative Insight. "Search within" functionality and the ability to limit by content type (e.g. notices, proposed rules, final rules) are available through the filters. The default display is organized by federal agency to facilitate research into the history of agency-specific and sub-agency regulations. Histories are also sortable by date. The content includes fully searchable PDFs of all Federal Register issues from 1936-present, plus separate PDFs of all FR “articles” with both browse and search options. The content includes fully searchable PDFs of all CFR volumes 1938-present plus separate PDFs of all CFR Titles and Parts, with browse and search options. Regulatory histories also include links to Legislative Insight and Supreme Court Insight.
ProQuest Supreme Court Insight - Supreme Court Insight, 1933-2016, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process, and is also retrievable on a document by document basis.
Ravel Law - "a new legal search, analytics, and visualization platform. Ravel enables lawyers to find, contextualize, and interpret information that turns legal data into legal insights. Ravel's array of powerful tools – which include data-driven, interactive visualizations and analytics – transforms how lawyers understand the law and prepare for litigation." Law School students can sign up for free educational access.
Supreme Court Brief - news and analysis about the U.S. Supreme Court, from the National Law Journal.
Trellis - state court dockets and analytics are available through Trellis. This resource is available for all University of Chicago faculty and students. To find out what state courts are covered, please visit the state court coverage webpage on Trellis. To use Trellis, go to the Trellis Sign Up webpage and create an account using your university email and a password of your choice. Once your account is created you can start researching immediately.
U.S. Topical
AILALink - an online research database created and maintained by the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA) and provides access to reliable and up-to-date immigration law information and guidance. Licensed for 3 users at a time.
ALM Intelligence Legal Compass - includes access to full-text American Lawyer Media (ALM) Survey & Ranking reports, the ability to search law firm data, and access to ready-made Law Firm Reports for 300+ world wide firms.
American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Papers, 1912-1990
American Law Institute Library (via HeinOnline)
VitalLaw (fka Cheetah) - includes primary sources and secondary sources for antitrust, corporate and securities, banking, intellectual property, and tax law, including the Federal Securities Law Reporter, the Trade Regulation Reporter, Standard Federal Tax Reporter, U.S. Tax Treaties Reporter, and many other looseleaf services, treatises, guides, and newsletters. [VitalLaw replaces the old platform CCH IntelliConnect]
Crime, Punishment, and Pop Culture - focusing on the period from 1790-1920, this collection brings together over 2 million pages of archival materials. Content includes trial transcripts, detective agency records, police force records, police gazettes, penny dreadfuls, crime-related broadsheets, true crime literature, prisoner photographs, prison postcards, statistics, and manuscripts. During this period, major prison reforms and the development of dedicated police forces occurred, crime journalism appeared in daily newspapers, and crime fiction became a popular literary genre.
Daily Whale - news information service covering local government in the Chicago area. To sign up to receive daily emails, Ask a Law Librarian.
Elgaronline - ebooks on US law, law and economics, comparative law, international law, and european law published by Edward Elgar from 2017-2019.
Encyclopedia of Law and Religion Online
Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E) - access to E&E's four daily online publications (ClimateWire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, and E&ENews PM) providing news and analysis on energy, environmental, and climate policy.
Environmental Law Reporter - an environmental, natural resources, toxic tort, energy, health/safety, and land use law research tool containing original source documents, editorial summaries, and expert analysis on state, federal, and international issues.
HeinOnline: National Survey of State Laws
HeinOnline: Religion and the Law
HeinOnline: Slavery in America and the World
HeinOnline: Women and the Law
IICLE Online Library - practice materials written for Illinois attorneys, including topical guides, materials from CLE courses, and current awareness newsletters. [To use this resource, please log onto the cVPN. Information about the cVPN is available here.]
LawInsider - a contract and clause database with millions of contracts extracted from SEC filings and other publicly available documents. New documents are catalogued and indexed daily. University of Chicago users can sign up for a free account using their UChicago email address.
Lincoln at the Bar: Extant Case Files from the U.S. District and Circuit Courts, Southern District of Illinois - “This collection consists of the extant files of cases from the records of the U.S. District and Circuit Courts at Springfield with which Abraham Lincoln has been identified as legal counsel, and date from 1855 to 1861. The 122 case files reproduced here include civil actions brought under both statute and common law, admiralty litigation, and a few criminal cases.”
Oxford Handbooks Online in Criminology and Criminal Justice - Oxford Handbooks in Criminology bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in criminology. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Oxford Handbooks Online in Law - Oxford Handbooks in Law bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in law. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Oxford U.S. Constitutional Law - reference resource to help researchers understand the legal and political history of American constitutionalism. This collection contains an archive of both primary source materials and expert commentary that spans the colonial era and founding through the modern day.
ProQuest Trends & Policy: Immigration Law - Trends & Policy connects policies implemented by the U.S. government concerning immigration with the data-driven results and trends of those policies and provides context with analytical reports and news articles. This product includes timelines, topic pages, and data tools.
RIA Checkpoint - U.S. tax law resource; use without registering or create an account (law students and faculty only)
Supreme Court Insight - a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases from 1975-2017, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process, and is also retrievable on a document by document basis.
Tax Notes - Requires creating an account while signed into the cVPN or on an on-campus computer using UChicago email address. The Tax Notes Research Platform provides access to tax-related analytical sources covering U.S. federal and state tax issues, as well as foreign and international tax issues. The database includes access to Tax Notes, the magazine, as well as State Tax Notes, Tax Notes International, and Exempt Organization Tax Review. It also includes full-text tax cases, statutes, regulations, and other primary sources.
The following Tax Notes publications are included on the platform (available at the orange "Publications" link at the top-right of the main page after you sign in),
- Tax Notes, the magazine
- State Tax Notes
- Tax Notes International
- Exempt Organization Tax Review
- Tax Notes Today
- State Tax Today
- Worldwide Tax Daily
- BEPS Expert (focusing on base erosion and profit shifting and the activities of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD))
- FACTA Expert (focusing on the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act of 2010)
- Transfer Pricing Expert
- Exempt Organizations (a daily version of Exempt Organization Tax Review)
- TaxPractice
TRACFED - federal criminal statistics; includes subscription to Judge Info Center.
Foreign and International
Bloomberg Law - includes foreign, comparative, and international law (FCIL)-related books, treatises, and practice guides, and Getting the Deal Through (GTDT).
Chatham House Online Archive - provides a searchable, browsable research environment that enables users to explore approximately half a million pages and over ninety years of research, expert analysis, and commentary published in briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers and books. Users also have access to the full text of Chatham House's two flagship publications: the leading academic journal International Affairs and the magazine The World Today. Additionally, the archive offers unique access to thousands of hours of audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts.
ChinaLawInfo (Chinese law database - Chinese-language interface version; see also LawInfoChina (PKUlaw), the English-language interface).
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) - database of international relations books, conference proceedings, working papers, and journal articles.
Competition Policy International ("the global resource for antitrust and competition policy"; includes the CPI Journal, Antitrust Chronicle, and Hot Tub).
Constitute: The World's Constitutions to Read, Search, and Compare.
Constitutions of the Countries of the World - full text of foreign constitutions in English, English translation, with constitutional chronology, and bibliographies. Continued by Oxford Constitutions of the World. See also Historical Constitutions.
Constitutions of Dependencies and Territories - full text of foreign constitutions in English, English translation, with chronologies, and bibliographies. Continued by Oxford Constitutions of the World. See also Historical Constitutions.
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920- "The collection covers Europe, North America, India, and the Antipodes and includes [archival] material in English, Spanish, French, Italian, and German."
Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive - More than 1.7 million data points. Unique Domestic Conflict Event Data for every country include: Assassinations, General Strikes, Guerrilla Warfare, Major Government Crises, Purges, Riots, Revolutions, Anti-government Demonstrations.
Customary International Humanitarian Law Database (International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) Customary IHL).
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (includes the Statutes at Large and law books).
Early European Books (printed sources to 1700).
Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law (online).
Elgar Encyclopedia of International Economic Law (online).
Elgar Encyclopedia of Law and Economics (online).
Elgar Encyclopedia of Private International Law (online).
Elgaronline - ebooks on US law, law and economics, comparative law, international law, and European law published by Edward Elgar through 2021.
Encyclopedia of Law and Religion Online (Gerhard Robbers and W. Cole Durham eds., Leiden: Brill, [2015- ]) - The Encyclopedia covers Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, Oceania, international organizations and special territories (e.g. Gibraltar, Greenland). Each article provides social facts, historical background, the position of religion in the legal system, individual religious freedoms, active religious communities, including legal status and labor law, and religious assistance in public institutions, legal position of religious personnel and members of religious orders, matrimonial and familial laws, religious and criminal laws, and country-specific issues.
English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867) (via HeinOnline).
FBIS Index 1975-1996 - Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index: "An index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government covering political, economic, scientific, and
cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information."
Foreign Law Guide (Marci Hoffman ed. (formerly Reynolds & Flores), Brill) - guide to legal systems and sources of major codes, court cases, and other primary and secondary law for jurisdictions of the world (including information on English translations, law by subject, and links to websites).
Getting the Deal Through - "provides international comparative guides to law and regulation in close to 100 practice areas and more than 100 jurisdictions, with concise explanations to the most important legal and regulatory matters that arise in deals and disputes worldwide," including antitrust regulation and intellectual property. Available through Bloomberg Law (under the "Search & Browse" tab --> "Books & Treatises").
Global Regulation - contains unofficial English-language machine translations of laws from many jurisdictions. You can do one Global Law Search (of laws from 90 countries) or search individual country's laws via the Global Regulation Law Database Coverage Details page. The page also lists the total number of laws for each country or jurisdiction (including the European Union) and has a scope of coverage map.
Global Health and Human Rights Database - "fully searchable online database of more than 1000 judgments, constitutions and international instruments on the intersection between health and human rights." Produced by the Lawyers Collective and the O'Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law at Georgetown Law.
GlobaLex - a free online legal publication comprising research guides, tools, and articles on foreign, comparative, and international law topics written by scholars, lawyers, and law librarians well known in their respective fields. GlobaLex has foreign legal research guides for over 100 countries, over 50 international legal research topics from the African Union to Human Trafficking to International Treaties to the United Nations, and guides to researching foreign law generally, African law, comparative family law, religious legal systems, and the law of Latin American countries. GlobaLex is published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.
Guide to Law Online (Law Library of Congress) - include links to foreign primary law, legal research guides, and general country resources under "Nations of the World", international organizations under "International and Multinational", and the Indigenous Law Portal.
HeinOnline: Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)
HeinOnline: Art Antiquity and Law
HeinOnline: Australian Law Reform Commission (ALRC) Library
HeinOnline: Buddhism, Law & Society
HeinOnline: Canada Supreme Court Reports
HeinOnline: English Reports
HeinOnline: European Center for Minority Issues.
HeinOnline: Foreign & International Law Resources Database (FILRD) - includes international law yearbooks and periodicals, digests of U.S. practice in international law (Wharton, Moore, Hackworth, Whiteman), Permanent Court of International Justice (PCIJ) decisions, and Moore's History and Digest of the International Arbitrations to which the United States Has Been a Party.
HeinOnline: Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS).
HeinOnline: Hague Academy Collected Courses Online / Recueil des cours en ligne
HeinOnline: Harvard Research in International Law Collection
HeinOnline: History of International Law
HeinOnline: Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.
HeinOnline: Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
HeinOnline: International Commission of Jurists (ICJ) Library
HeinOnline: International Journal of the Jurisprudence of Family Library
HeinOnline: International Law Association (ILA) Reports
HeinOnline: Israel Law Reports (and Israel Law Review)
HeinOnline: Jus Gentium: Journal International Legal History
HeinOnline: Kluwer Law International Journal Library
HeinOnline: Law in Eastern Europe - This collection of books, published by Brill, has been digitized for the first time and made available via HeinOnline. This series of more than 60 titles showcases the development, enactment, and impact of the rule of law in Eastern Europe.
HeinOnline: Law Journal Library: International and Non-U.S. Law Journals
HeinOnline: Legal Classics (includes the Classics of International Law series).
HeinOnline: McGill Institute of Air and Space Law Publications (includes the Annals of Air and Space Law)
HeinOnline: Multinational Sources Compared.
HeinOnline: Open Society Justice Initiative
HeinOnline: Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law Publications - includes more than 50 publications from the prestigious Parker School of Foreign & Comparative Law at Columbia Law School, such as the 22-volume set Charles Szladits's Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law and An Introduction to the Legal System of the United States by Allan Farnsworth.
HeinOnline: Philip C. Jessup Library (International Law Moot Court).
HeinOnline: Philippine Law Collection.
HeinOnline: Provincial Statutes of Canada
HeinOnline: Recueil des cours en ligne ( Académie de droit international de La Haye /
Hague Academy of International Law Collected Courses Online)
HeinOnline: Religion and the Law
HeinOnline: Revised Statutes of Canada
HeinOnline: Scottish Legal History (Stair Society).
HeinOnline: Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law.
HeinOnline: Session Laws Library (Australia, Bahamas, Canada under the "Federal Laws" tab).
HeinOnline: Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law.
HeinOnline: Statutes of the Realm
HeinOnline: United Nations Law Collection - includes PDF and GET BY CITE of the United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.), League of Nations Treaty Series (L.N.T.S.), Reports of International Arbitral Awards (R.I.A.A.), ICJ Reports, International Law Commission (ILC) and UNCITRAL yearbooks, reports of proceedings of UN law conferences, and other UN law publications.
HeinOnline: U.S. International Trade Library.
HeinOnline: U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library - United States treaties and other international agreements as published in U.S.T., T.I.A.S., Bevans, I.L.M., and related commentary, and other secondary resources.
HeinOnline: World Constitutions Illustrated - WCI is a growing collection of current and historical constitutions for countries of the world in the vernacular and in English translation and in PDF format. The database also includes constitutional-related documents, journal articles, periodicals, and major treatises. It is intended to be a central resource for the complete constitutional history of every country.
HeinOnline: World Treaty Library - Covering 1648 to the present, the World Treaty Library provides full-text searching across PDFs of the major treaty sources, including United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (U.S.T.), Martens'Nouveau recueil général de traités, United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.), and League of Nations Treaty Series (L.N.T.S.), as well as other related treaty publications, a bibliography, and law review articles.
HeinOnline: World Trials Library - Includes American State Trials, Thomas Howell's State Trials, trials of major war criminals, Nuremberg war crimes trials, Famous Cases, Sacco and Vanzetti, Leopold and Loeb, Causes Celebres, remarkable trials of all countries.
Human Rights Studies - a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
ICLR: The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England & Wales - ICLR is the authorized publisher of The Law Reports for the UK Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, and High Courts of England and Wales. In addition to case reports and summaries, ICLR offers access to UK legislation through integration with legislation.gov.uk. ICLR also includes a citator, a Briefcase function and print and PDF output options. Supreme Court and House of Lords judgments include a report of the arguments of counsel. Case coverage is from 1865 to present.
ICSID Reports (v.1 (1993)-present) - reports of cases decided under the International Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States, 1965; investor-state arbitration/international arbitration decisions online via the Cambridge Law Reports platform).
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
Inter-American Court of Human Rights Database - produced by the editors and staff of the IACHR Project; allows users to search Inter-American Court decisions by case name, country, and topic.
International Comparative Legal Guides (ICLG, Global Legal Group) - Free online access to content in 46 practice areas for 140 jurisdictions.
International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law Online (Brill) - The IECL database provides full text searching of a multi-volume archival print set comprising national reports (of country law, legal systems, and legal research resources), and volumes on the legal systems of the world - their comparison and unification, private international law, persons and family, succession, property and trust, contracts in general, specific contracts, commercial transactions and institutions, restitution - unjust enrichment and negotiorum gestio, torts, law of transport, business and private organizations, copyright and industrial property, labour law, civil procedure, state and economy.
International Encyclopaedia of Laws (IEL) (via Kluwer Law International, Kluwer Law Online)(encyclopedia sets on 25 subject areas of foreign and international law: Civil Procedure, Commercial and Economic Law, Competition Law, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Partnerships, Criminal Law, Cyber Law, Energy Law, Environmental Law, Family and Succession Law, Insurance Law, Intellectual Property, Intergovernmental Organisations (IGOs, international organizations), Labour Law and Industrial Relations, Media Law, Medical Law, Migration Law, Private International Law, Property and Trust Law, Religion, Social Security Law, Sports Law, Tort Law, Transport Law).
International Law Reports (ILR, v.1 (1919)-present) - the Law Library owns print copies so use Scan and Deliver for full text of public international law cases from international tribunals and national (domestic/municipal) courts, but the ILR citations can be found via searching the Cambridge Law Reports platform. CLR has browse, keyword, and subject/topical search options.
Investment Arbitration Reporter (IAReporter) - a news & analysis service tracking international arbitrations between foreign investors and sovereign governments. IAReporter helps a broad range of readers - including lawyers, academics and government officials - stay abreast of the latest legal developments and policy trends in investment treaty arbitration.
Investor-State Law Guide (ISLG) - a research tool in the area of investment treaty arbitration. ISLG contains rules, conventions, bilateral investment treaties, free trade agreements (including NAFTA), and arbitration decisions, all of which are cross-referenced.
Kluwer Arbitration - international commercial arbitration database including major international arbitration journals, treaties, rules and decisions of arbitral tribunals, treatises, and other commentary.
Kluwer Law International Journal Library (via HeinOnline) - 12 e-journals including pre-2003 Common Market Law Review issues, Journal of International Arbitration, Journal of World Trade, and World Competition from the first volume to the last 4-5 years.
Law360 (International Arbitration, International Trade)
LawInfoChina (PKUlaw) - English-language interface version, Chinese law database; see also ChinaLawInfo, Chinese-language interface version.
Lexis+ for Law Students - includes case law for Australia, Canada, China, England & Wales, Hong Kong, India (not updated), Ireland, Israel (Supreme Court), Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Scotland, South Africa (constitutional and tax cases), United Kingdom; U.S. treaties; International Legal Materials (ILM); EU law treatises, ECJ cases, EU treaties, regulations, directives; ICJ decisions; ECHR judgments and decisions; international arbitration and international trade materials; Doing Business .../Business Transactions in...(Matthew Bender treatises); non-English news.
LLMC Digital - covers historical government documents (constitutions, statutes/statutory compilations, codes, case reports, treaties) and legal titles from multiple foreign jurisdictions with strong collections of works from Canada, Cuba, Germany, Haiti, and the United Kingdom; includes pre-1920 international law treatises. Has special focus collections on canon law, ancient legal systems, Blackstone, comparative law, Islamic law, Roman law, Dutch Colonial Studies, Pacific Studies, and the British Empire.
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 (Gale/Cengage Learning) - includes historical US/UK law treatises.
Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926 (Gale/Cengage Learning) - includes classic international law treatises (books/monographs), such as works by Gentili, Grotius, Selden, Zouche, Pufendorf, Bijnkershoek, Wolff, Vattel, Martens, Mackintosh, and Wheaton; pre-1900s non-U.S. legal treatises, principally from Argentina, Australia, Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Mexico, Netherland, South Africa, Spain, and Switzerland; and works comparing more than one legal system, and on Roman Law, Islamic Law, Jewish Law, and Ancient Law. Works are mostly in English and Western European languages.
Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources: 1600-1970 (Gale/Cengage Learning) - World civil law collection includes historical regulations, session laws, journals, codes and commentaries of Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Great Britain, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and other African, Asian, European, and Latin American jurisdictions. Analogous materials from canon law and Roman law are also included. Searches can be limited by content type, country, language (Dutch, English, French, German, Irish, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish), and by type of illustrated work.
Manupatra - Indian law database
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law (MPECCOL)
Max Planck Encyclopedias of Public International Law Online (or Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law (MPIL)): Includes two modules, the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL/EPIL) and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro), on the Oxford Public International Law (OPIL) platform.
OECDiLibrary (was SourceOECD).
Oxford Bibliographies Online - International Law is a research resource comprising encyclopedia-type articles and annotated bibliographies on international law topics compiled by experts in the field. The bibliographies are "recommendations on the best works...whether it be a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set."
Oxford Constitutions of the World - contains fully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), accompanied by individual commentaries, supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical constitutions, and amendment Acts/laws.
Oxford Handbook of Roman Law and Society - "surveys contemporary research into Roman law and society. More than a guide to Roman law as a doctrinal system, it employs the full resources of contemporary legal history, from comparison to popular constitutionalism, from international private law to law and society."
Oxford Handbooks Online in Criminology and Criminal Justice - Oxford Handbooks in Criminology bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in criminology. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Oxford Handbooks Online in Law - Oxford Handbooks in Law bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in law. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History - edited by Stanley N. Katz, is the first encyclopedia of law to provide both historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems. A truly international and interdisciplinary reference work, the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History covers legal history from ancient to modern times. Approximately 1,000 articles explore the traditions of Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law, and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia. Major categories of law explained in detail include private law (contract, tort, civil procedure), public law (statutory, criminal, etc.), and higher or constitutional law. —Publisher's Website.
Oxford Investment Claims - Investment Claims aims to publish all publicly available awards and decisions arising out of international investment arbitrations and related enforcement or review decisions from national courts. The collection includes over 300 arbitral awards, decisions, and determinations under the auspices of bodies such as the ICC International Court of Arbitration, International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID), and others.
Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL) - ORIL is a current awareness service for alerts about new international law cases, with full texts of case-law, English translations, and expert analyses. We subscribe to the following modules: 1) Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts (ILDC); 2) Oxford Reports on International Criminal Law; 3) Oxford Reports on International Human Rights Law; 4) Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction; 5) Oxford Reports on International Investment Claims.
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law - contains "full-text online editions of market-leading reference works and treatises published by Oxford University Press. Books such as Oppenheim, Satow's Diplomatic Practice, the Oxford Handbooks in international law, and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law are made available online for the first time, fully searchable and linked by the Oxford Law Citator."
Parry & Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law (3d ed, 2009; eBook).
Practical Law Global - transactional law resource that provides model documents (with legal drafting and negotiating tips), step-by-step checklists, timelines, handy overviews of transactional practice areas, and legal updates on the latest market developments. PLC focuses on corporate, securities, and finance law. Available via Westlaw.
Practising Law Institute (PLI) Plus - collection of e-books and other publications on a variety of legal topics written by general practitioners. Includes international law content.
Recueil des cours = Collected Courses (Académie de droit international de La Haye = Hague Academy of International Law) - the Hague Academy Collected Courses Online (Martinus Nijhoff) - books, book chapters, mini-monographs on public international law topics.
SCC Online - “India’s premier legal database. Access complete coverage of the Supreme Court, all High Courts, Tribunals and Commissions, Statutory Material and many foreign jurisdictions and International material.”
SourceOECD (see OECD iLibrary) - includes economic surveys, labor and population statistics, member-country competition policy information, and the OECD Journal of Competition Law and Policy.
Tax Notes - Requires creating an account on an on-campus computer using UChicago email address. The Tax Notes Research Platform provides access to tax-related analytical sources covering U.S. federal and state tax issues, as well as foreign and international tax issues. The database includes access to Tax Notes International, Worldwide Tax Daily, BEPS Expert (OECD), FACTA Expert (focusing on the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act of 2010), Transfer Pricing Expert.
Transnational Dispute Management (TDM) - TDM focuses on recent developments in the area of arbitration and dispute management. D'Angelo Law Library does not subscribe, but it is searchable.
UN Audiovisual Library of International Law (AVL) - includes full runs of the UN Yearbook, Reports of International Arbitral Awards (R.I.A.A.), historic archives, video lecture series, bibliographies.
UN Official Document System (ODS) - United Nations reports, sessional GA, ECOSOC, SC, and Trusteeship Council documents mostly from 1993 to the present, but also including all UN resolutions and Security Council documents back to 1946.
UN Treaty Collection - includes the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS), the League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS), Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (index, status of treaties, declarations, reservations), and other treaty-related publications.
vLex Global - foreign law database which contains cases, statutes, and other legal materials in 13 languages for 134 countries. It is strongest for the law of the following countries: United States, Canada, Mexico, Spain, Brazil, Chile, Argentina, Colombia, Peru, Panama, Ecuador, Uruguay, Venezuela, Puerto Rico, India, Portugal, Italy, the UK, Belgium, and France. It includes collections of primary material for the European Union and other jurisdictions. vLex Global features automatic parallel translation, and includes secondary materials.
Wangfang Data: Policies and Laws of China (PLOC) (database via Chinese Studies).
Westlaw - includes case-law for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, and the UK; U.S. treaties, International Legal Materials (ILM), international commercial arbitration databases, investor-state materials, ICJ, ICTR, ICTY, Iran-U.S. Claims Tribunal, WTO, GATT decisions; European Union legislation, treaties, cases, journals (European Competition Law Review, Common Market Law Reports); International Organization (INOG), Foreign Affairs (FORGNAFF), Foreign Policy (FORGNPLY), Global Governance (GLBLGOVERN).
Westlaw also has the Legal Journals Index (LJI), UK Journals and Law Reviews (UK-JLR), Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL), CANADA-JLR, Texts & Periodicals - Canada (TP-CANADA), WORLD-JLR, International Law Texts & Periodicals (INT-TP).
Westlaw > All Content >International Materials (Australia, Canada, UK, EU, including law journals).
WIPO Lex (World Intellectual Property Organization) - contains national laws and treaties on copyright, patents, and trademarks, as well as intellectual property (IP)-related legislation such as civil codes, constitutions, etc.
Witchcraft in Europe and America (includes transcripts of trials and other legal documents from 1500 to 1930).
WorldLII (World Legal Information Institute) - includes links to laws by country, subject, and law type (cases, statutes, treaties, constitutions), with a focus on common law jurisdictions; law journal articles; decisions of international tribunals; part of the Free Access to Law Movement (FALM).
WorldTradeLaw.net - provides searchable full text of GATT/WTO Panel and Appellate Body reports; WTO arbitration awards and decisions; Uruguay Round agreements; Tokyo Round agreements; Doha decisions/declarations; NAFTA Chapter 20 Panel reports; NAFTA and related legal instruments; Dispute settlement commentaries (DSCs) for awards and decision, and primary source documents related to international trade law.
Law Reviews
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
EBSCO Academic Search Complete
Congress and Legislative History
ProQuest Legislative Insight - Extensive compilation of legislative histories of U.S. public laws enacted from 1929-present used to discover the legislative intent behind a specific law. Histories include the full text of the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, prints, presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and other miscellaneous congressional publications. All documents are full-text, searchable PDFs.
For Law Students
CALI Lessons [Ask a Law Librarian for the registration code]